Bathroom Stall Advertising…Why?

I don't know about you, but I prefer to visit the bathroom alone. Given that preference, I've felt, for over a decade now, like I've been under attack by advertising in public restrooms. The brain trusts who decided that ads on bathroom stall walls were a smokin' good way to get their message across have been pushing their products in my face, and I've been making note of companies NOT to buy from.

I mean, who wants to buy insurance from some dude who you first see smiling down at you in a bathroom stall? Larry Craig might find that compelling, but I most certainly don't. Besides, a strange guy in my bathroom means that he's in the ladies room, which adds another level of weirdness to an already weird scene.

Bathroom walls have long been used for commercial messages, but those have traditionally been along the lines of 'for a good time call' or 'Dwayne + Lola 4 Evah'. Why insurance brokers, day spas, or anyone else would think that bog walls would be an attractive, or even suitable, venue for their messages is beyond me. Well, beer might work, in a bar bog, but bars have notoriously uncontrollable bog walls, and ads posted there might find their messages being morphed by user-generated content. The beer company may find themselves appearing to participate in unnatural acts, or to agree with white supremacists.

Anyone who has any thoughts on why the bog-wall ad is a good idea, please share.

That's my story, and I'm stickin' to it…

3 responses to “Bathroom Stall Advertising…Why?

  1. I think that bathroom ads are better than staring at a blank wall, especially if you’re going to be in there for a while (cough).
    And even though you are taking note of these companies in order to avoid them, you are still TAKING NOTE of them. If you remember these companies better after seeing them in a bathroom stall, then the ad is working.
    Just because you reacted negatively doesn’t mean everyone else would. Some people might even welcome the distraction! LOL!

  2. well, my company has taken to posting internal notices/promotions of the inside door too. so, as i was “thinking” i read a notice for the stellar employee reward program. i even thought of who i’d like to nominate. fast forward, i get nominated and embarrassed at the cellular level. i wonder what that person was thinking of me when they nominated me. ha.

  3. I can’t wait to see your reply to my comment below about this post. Or if you/your readers really want to hear what I think (click here to refresh the page with my video billboard ad: http://www.bubblecomment.com/id/6vqo8) and then scroll down to finish reading the post below:

    Go ahead, you know you want to watch & not read this… click it, it’s safe (nothing will download/install) http://www.bubblecomment.com/id/6vqo8

    Disclaimer: I consult for this new ‘comment’ technology company Bubble Guru and wanted to show off our free tool.

    Did you click? OK, if you are not going to at least scroll down and read my post instead:

    …As a former owner of an indoor billboard business (Richmond, VA – Adnet Indoord Billboards), I can appreciate your point about being ‘watched’ for certain boring ad designs. However like most good advertisers, we directed our clients (some very upscale) to embrace the location, and play off of it to ‘interupt’ the ‘visitor’, but in a fun way, to create a very personlized ‘1:1’ gender specific conversation – in doing so, many of our traditional advertisers stood out, made their impression, and got great ROI on their campaigns. If done properly, the medium not only works for the paying business, but the patron actually gets a free smile, and something to do in the looooooo!

Leave a Reply

